Lab section: 008 Monday 0800A-0850A

GEOG 121 Project 0:
Web Publishing Exercise

Janet Beekman, email: jab16@psu.edu


 

††††††††††† I was born in Summit, NJ in March of 1960.  When I was 4, my family and I moved to Chattanooga, TN where I lived for 8 years. I then moved to Trenton, NJ where I attended middle school. After middle school, I moved to Milton, PA where I attended high school. In 1978, I came to Penn State as an undergrad. With the exception of a summer in Columbia, Maryland, one year in College Park, Maryland, and one week in Pavia, Itay, I have lived in State College, ever since. So, I would say that State College is my hometown. I graduated from Penn State with a BS in Computer Science in 1981 and with a MS in Computer Science in 1986. While I was an undergrad, I worked as an NSA CO-OP. In 1981, I began working for HRB Singer, which is now Raytheon. I worked first as a software engineer and later as a systems engineer. In 1989, I moved to Penn State where I did software support and systems administration for Computer Science and Electrical Engineering. I did web development for Penn State's Applied Research Lab. In 1997, I started working for Penn Stateís Office of Physical Plan where I still work today.I have traveled to many states including Hawaii. Other places I have traveled to include:Guam, Great Britain, France, Sweden, Denmark, Germany, Austria, Belgium, Holland, Spain, and Italy.

            Currently, I have resumed my graduate studies at Penn State as a Nondegree Grad. I plan to pursue a Master's Degree in Geography specializing in web-based GIS.  I am planning on doing the residential program because if things work out I will continue to get my Doctoral Degree. I also enjoy interacting with the other students and the faculty when Iím at class.At the Office of Physical Plant, I provide computer support for our GIS users and help build GIS projects. I plan to apply what I learn in school to my projects that I work on for Physical Plant. I recently helped setup a web-based GIS database of trees at the University Park Campus. You can view this at http://lorax.opp.psu.edu/website/treep. I am taking Geog 121 to round my base knowledge and to prepare me for more advanced GIS classes.

            I was married for 16 years to a wonderful man who unfortunately passed away several years ago. I have two boys who are both now attending Penn State. I also have three golden retrievers and a cat. When I'm not working, I like to spend time swimming in my endless pool, which I have in my basement. I like hiking, walking my dogs, and gardening.  I also enjoy watching movies and reading. The one thing I donít like is negative thinking. Negative thoughts can hold you back. I try to see the positive in things. I think life is better that way.