|Penn State University |Electrical Engineering Department

About the lab | News
Research issues
2002 and before | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | Books | To be published
Employee | Students | Visiting scholars
Softwares | Powerpoints
Contact us
subglobal8 link | subglobal8 link | subglobal8 link | subglobal8 link | subglobal8 link | subglobal8 link | subglobal8 link


small logo

Raj Mittra is Professor in the Electrical Engineering department of the Pennsylvania State University. He is also the Director of the Electromagnetic Communication Laboratory, which is affiliated with the Communication and Space Sciences Laboratory of the EE Department. Prior to joining Penn State he was a Professor in Electrical and Computer Engineering at the University of Illinois in Urbana Champaign. He is a Life Fellow of the IEEE, a Past-President of AP-S, and he has served as the Editor of the Transactions of the Antennas and Propagation Society. He won the Guggenheim Fellowship Award in 1965, the IEEE Centennial Medal in 1984, the IEEE Millennium medal in 2000, the IEEE/AP-S Distinguished Achievement Award in 2002, the AP-S Chen-To Tai Distinguished Educator Award in 2004 and the IEEE Electromagnetics Award in 2006. He has been a Visiting Professor at Oxford University, Oxford, England and at the Technical University of Denmark, Lyngby, Denmark. He has also served as the North American editor of the journal AEÜ.

His professional interests include the areas of Communication Antenna Design, RF circuits, computational electromagnetics, electromagnetic modeling and simulation of electronic packages, EMC analysis, radar scattering, frequency selective surfaces, microwave and millimeter wave integrated circuits, and satellite antennas.

He has published over 970 journal and symposium papers and more than 40 books or book chapters on various topics related to electromagnetics, antennas, microwaves and electronic packaging. He also has three patents on communication antennas to his credit. He has supervised about 100 Ph.D. theses, 85 M.S. theses, and has mentored more than 50 postdocs and Visiting scholars. He has directed, as well as lectured in, numerous short courses on Computational Electromagnetics, Electronic Packaging, Wireless antennas and Metamaterials, both nationally and internationally.

  • University of Calcutta , India - M.S. in Radiophysics and Electronics, 1953
  • University of Toronto , Canada - Ph.D., Electrical Engineering, 1957
  • Professor, Electrical Engineering Department, Electromagnetics Laboratory, University of Illinois, Urbana, Illinois, 1957-1996,
  • Professor, Electrical Engineering Department; Director, Electromagnetic Communication Laboratory Pennsylvania State University, 1996-present
  • University of Colorado, Engineering Experiment Station, Summer, Research Associate, 1959; University of Colorado and National Bureau of Standards, Boulder, Colorado, Summer, Research Associate, 1963; Oxford University, England, Department of Engineering Science, Visiting Professor, 1965-1966; Bell Telephone Laboratories, Whippany, New Jersey, Summer, Antenna Research Department, Research Specialist, 1967; TRW Systems, Redondo Beach, California, Summer, Research Specialist, 1968; University of Illinois, Urbana, Illinois, Center for Advanced Study, 1968; TRW Systems, Redondo Beach, California, Summer, Research Specialist, 1969.
  • Technical University of Denmark, Lyngby, Denmark, Visiting Professor, 1971-1972; University of Illinois, Urbana, Illinois, Electrical Engineering Department, Associate Director of the Electromagnetics Laboratory, 1972-1983; Antennas and Propagation Society of IEEE, President, 1976-1977; Electromagnetics Society, Board of Directors, 1978.
  • AEÜ, Editor, 1975-2001.
  • Transactions Antennas and Propagation Society, Editor, 1980-1983; Schlumberger-Doll Research Center Ridgefield, Connecticut, Visiting Scientist, 1983; University of Illinois, Director of the Electromagnetic Communication Laboratory, 1984-1996;
  • RM Associates – A Consulting and Software Development Company providing services to the department of Defense and many major aerospace, computer and communications companies, both in the U.S. and abroad – President, 1980-Present.
  • Guggenheim Fellowship Award (1965),
  • IEEE Centennial Medal (1984),
  • IEEE Millennium medal (2000),
  • AP Distinguished Achievement award (2002).
  • IEEE Electromagnetic Award (2006)
  • IEEE James H. Mulligan, Jr. Education Medal (2010)
| Webmaster: Brandy Gibbons <beg5047@psu.edu> | Privacy Policy ©2007 Electromagnetic Communication Laboratory