Math 457, Introduction to Mathematical Logic, Spring 2017

Course details

Instructor:     Jason Rute
Email:    
Lecture:     MWF 10:10 am - 11:00 am
302 Willard Building
Textbook:     A Mathematical Introduction to Logic, 2nd Edition
by Herbert B. Enderton
(See this errata list, which used to be on the author's website.)
Office:     421 McAllister Building
Office Hours:     T 4:00--5:00 pm and R 2:00--3:00 pm
or by appointment (email me to set up a meeting),
or feel free to drop by unannounced (I may not be in).

See the course syllabus for additional details. Grades will be recorded on ANGEL.

Supplementary resources

Mathematical Logic

Mathematical Logic (Fun)

Mathematical logic has captured the public interest. These popular science resources are not mathematically deep, but they are interesting, fun, and provide a general overview.

Mathematics in general

Homework Assignments

Please read my instructions for homework assignments.

Schedule

The schedule below is tentative. The lecture notes may differ from what was presented in lecture. See Math 475 (Spring 2016) for notes from the last time this course was taught.

Week Date Topics Book Sections Lecture Notes Remarks
1 01/09/17 Mon Introduction 1.1 notes  
01/11/17 Wed Language of sentential logic, wffs 1.1    
01/13/17 Fri Induction other, 1.1    
2 01/16/17 Mon MLK Jr Day (No class)      
01/18/17 Wed Induction on wffs 1.1    
01/20/17 Fri Truth assignments 1.2    
3 01/23/17 Mon Definition of |=, truth-tables 1.2    
01/25/17 Wed Some facts about |= 1.2    
01/27/17 Fri Parsing, Polish notation, induction, & recursion 1.3, 1.4    
4 01/30/17 Mon Sequential connectives 1.5    
02/01/17 Wed Compactness 1.7    
02/03/17 Fri Natural deduction proof trees handout    
5 02/06/17 Mon Natural deduction examples handout    
02/08/17 Wed Induction on proofs handout    
02/10/17 Fri Soundness for sentential logic handout    
6 02/13/17 Mon Review      
02/15/17 Wed Midterm 1 (in class)      
02/17/17 Fri Completeness for sentential logic handout    
7 02/20/17 Mon Completeness, elementary set theory handout, 0    
02/22/17 Wed Functions, relations, sequences 0    
02/24/17 Fri Cardinality, countability 0    
8 02/27/17 Mon Cardinality, axiom of choice 0, 1.7    
03/01/17 Wed Effectiveness 1.7    
03/03/17 Fri Logic Puzzles! N/A    
SB   SPRING BREAK. NO CLASSES THIS WEEK.      
9 03/13/17 Mon Languages of first order logic 2.1    
03/15/17 Wed Languages of first order logic 2.1    
03/17/17 Fri Structures 2.2    
10 03/20/17 Mon Satisfiability 2.2    
03/22/17 Wed Models, logical implication 2.2    
03/24/17 Fri Definability in a structure 2.2    
11 03/27/17 Mon Definability of a class of structures 2.2    
03/29/17 Wed Homomorphisms 2.2    
03/31/17 Fri Homomorphism theorem, non-definable relations 2.2    
12 04/03/17 Mon Review      
04/05/17 Wed Midterm 2 (in class)    
04/07/17 Fri Deduction rules for quantifiers handout, (2.4)    
13 04/10/17 Mon Equality handout, (2.4)    
04/12/17 Wed Additional examples handout, (2.4)    
04/14/17 Fri Provability, consistency, satisfiability handout, (2.4)    
14 04/17/17 Mon Applications of Compactness handout, (2.5)    
04/19/17 Wed Soundness handout, (2.5)    
04/21/17 Fri Completeness handout, (2.5)    
15 04/24/17 Mon Completeness handout, (2.5)    
04/26/17 Wed Halting problem and Godel's incompleteness      
04/28/17 Fri Review      
FW TBA