Erin Murphy

Erin Murphy is the author of six collections of poetry: Ancilla (Lamar University Press, 2014); Distant Glitter (Word Poetry, 2013); Word Problems (Word Poetry, 2011), winner of the 2012 Paterson Prize for Literary Excellence; Dislocation and Other Theories (Word Poetry, 2008), winner of the 2009 Paterson Prize for Literary Excellence; Too Much of This World (Mammoth Books, 2008), winner of the Anthony Piccione Poetry Prize; and Science of Desire (Word Poetry, 2004), a finalist for the Paterson Poetry Prize for the best poetry book of 2004. With Todd Davis, she is co-editor of Making Poems: 40 Poems with Commentary by the Poets (State University of New York Press, 2010). Her awards include the Dorothy Sargent Rosenberg Poetry Prize, the Foley Poetry Award, the National Writers' Union Poetry Award judged by Donald Hall, The Normal School Poetry Prize judged by Nick Flynn, the WISE Women Tribute Award in Arts & Letters, and fellowships from the Pennsylvania Council on the Arts, the Maryland State Arts Council, the Virginia Center for the Creative Arts, and the Institute for Arts and Humanities. Her work has been featured on Garrison Keillor's The Writer's Almanac, and her poems and creative nonfiction essays have appeared in numerous journals and anthologies, including 180 More: Extraordinary Poems for Every Day, edited by Billy Collins (Random House), The Art of Losing, edited by Kevin Young (Bloomsbury), and the 2009 Best of the Net anthology, judged by Patricia Smith. Murphy earned her Master of Fine Arts degree in poetry from the University of Massachusetts, Amherst, where she was an M.F.A. Fellow. She is associate professor of English and creative writing at the Pennsylvania State University, Altoona College, where she has received the Athleen J. Stere Teaching Award, the Grace D. Long Faculty Excellence Award, and the university-wide Alumni Award for Excellence in Teaching.