December 2010 Archives

MPK_LambeauPaint_325e.jpgAmended from STMA website.

Allen Johnson, CSFM is the Field Manager for the Green Bay Packers. On Thursday, January 13 from 2:45-4:15 pm he will be speaking with Nick Fedewa about "How Two NFL Organizations Approached New Technology in Field Surfaces." Two sports turf managers will discuss their professional experiences with the reconstruction of their fields. Beginning with the original condition of the fields, each sports turf manager will outline why the fields needed to be reconstructed and the process they used to convince their organization to invest in a change. The presentation will conclude with how each manager adapted their management style to achieve successful fields.

n Friday, January 14 from 8-10 am, Allen Johnson, CSFM will be speaking with Dr. Andrew McNitt, Ellen Davis, Brian Storm, and David Anderson about "Turf on the Frozen Tundra - Building Fields for the Green Bay Packers." A panel composed of the architect, contractor, sports field manager and material suppliers will discuss the renovation and construction of state-of-the-art practice and game-day fields for the Green Bay Packers; including Ray Nitschke Field, Clarke Hinkle Field and Lambeau Field. Processes, strategies and design considerations for successful field renovation and building will be discussed between attendees and the professionals that were involved with the projects.
Aiden Graven.jpgMr. Aiden Graven a junior in Penn State Universities Turfgrass Science Major was recently awarded the Golf Course Builders Association of America Foundation Award.

This award was established to honor and recognize outstanding achievement by undergraduate students who have achieved third year status as a Landscape Architecture Major or Turfgrass Science Major, have achieved good academic standing, and have demonstrated outstanding commitment and interest in a career in golf course construction, design, and/or related development.

Mr. Graven will be doing his official internship this summer with a Golf Course Construction Company. Aiden is from Owego, New York and has been working on The LInks at Hiawatha Landing Golf Course since 2005 and on Penn State's Blue and White courses since September.

Aiden has an outstanding grade point average and his other honors and activities include:

Spring 2010 Soils 101 Lab Teaching Assistant for Dr. Stehouwer
Fall 2010 Turf 235 Teaching Assistant for Dr. Turgeon
Turf Club Member
Dean's List 2008-2010
2009 Guldin Agricultural Specialty Scholarship Recipient
2010 College of Agriculture Alumni Scholarship Recipient
2010 Randolph Memorial Scholarship Recipient
2008-2010 CNY PGA Golf Career Scholarship Recipient
2008 Hannifin Memorial Scholarship Recipient
2007 Boys' State Leadership Conference Participant


SAFE Announces Scholarship Winners

STMA and the Foundation for Safer Athletic Fields for Everyone (SAFE) are pleased to announce the following students have been awarded 2010 SAFE Scholarships:

Graduate Scholarships

Dr. James Watson Graduate Scholarship - $2,500                  Tom Serensits, Penn State
SAFE Graduate Scholarship - $1,500                                      Matthew Williams, Ohio State

Four Year Scholarships

Dr. James Watson Undergraduate Scholarship - $2,250        Chase Straw, Kentucky
SAFE Undergraduate Scholarship - $1,250                            George Peters, Penn State
SAFE Undergraduate Scholarship - $1,000                            Julie Adamski, Penn State, JoLynda Rolli, Penn State, and Alexander Steinman, Penn State

Two Year Scholarships

Dr. Fred Grau Memorial Scholarship - $1,000                        Tyler Carter, Michigan State
SAFE Two Year Scholarship - $1,000                                     Shaun Eberhart, Kirkwood Community College           

These students, who were selected based on their academic merit and professional pedigree and goals within the industry, will be recognized at the STMA Awards Banquet, held Fri., Jan. 14, 2011 which is part of the 22nd Annual STMA Conference and Exhibition, Jan. 11-15, 2011, and will be in Austin, Texas.  In addition to their scholarships, each student is provided free conference registration and a stipend to pay for lodging at the conference.  The SAFE foundation is generously supported by corporate and individual donors throughout the year. 


Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner

Powered by Movable Type 4.34-en


About this Archive

This page is an archive of entries from December 2010 listed from newest to oldest.

November 2010 is the previous archive.

January 2011 is the next archive.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.